Central Texas County Map

The Austin metro region has experienced explosive growth. The City of Austin is in Travis County and surrounded by Williamson, Bastrop, Hays, and Caldwell counties. Counties throughout the metro region have vibrant economies with strategic plans for schools, neighborhoods, and commercial developments that meet the needs of over 2 million residents.

Searching for homes for sale by county produces results in Austin’s Travis County as well as in the surrounding towns of Bastrop, Elgin, Lockhart, Lulling, Martindale, Buda, Dripping Springs, Kyle, Williamson, Cedar Park, Georgetown, Liberty Hill, Bee Cave, and West Lake Hills.

County governments serve as part of the state government. Buyers often search by county to better understand a tax jurisdiction, regional transportation, car registration requirements, park and green space amenities, or to get a list of services provided for residents living in that region. Select the county of interest and see all current listings within that area.

Travis County

Travis County includes the City of Austin. The area, covering 1,023 miles with over 1.2m residents, includes Pflugerville on the north to just north of Buda to the south, and the area just east of Elgin to just west of Lakeway.

Williamson County

Covering one of the fastest growing regions north of Austin, Williamson County spreads across 1,134 square miles with a population of almost 600,000. Cities like Georgetown, Cedar Park, Round Rock, and Taylor, along with communities such as Taylor, Florence, Hutto, Anderson Mill, Circleville, Granger, and Walburg, are attracting buyers with good schools and some developing employment centers.

Hays County

Southwest of Austin, the 680-square mile region of Hays County includes communities in Dripping Springs, Driftwood, Buda, Kyle, Wimberley and the city of San Marcos. Population continues to grow rapidly with county residents topping 160,000. Major roadways running through Hays County include Interstate 35 and Highway 290E.

Burnet County

Northwest of Austin, Burnet County runs along Highway 281 through Marble Falls to just south of Lampasas. The county covers 1,021 square miles and has over 43,000 residents.

Caldwell County

Southeast of Austin and covering 547 square miles, Caldwell County has almost 40,000 residents. The county borders Luling to the South, San Marcos on the west, Delhi on the east, and Maha on the north. This rural area includes Taylorsville, Tilmon, Joliet, Mendoza, Pentress, and Lockhart.

Bastrop County

Southeast of Austin, Bastrop County has over 79,000 residents and is approximately 896 square miles in size. Stretching south from Elgin, the county includes the cities of Bastrop, Smithville, and Cedar Creek.

Blanco County

West of Austin, Blanco County sits along the Edwards Plateau covering 713 square miles of beautiful hill country. Towns in Blanco County include Johnson City and Blanco and rural areas along Highway 281 and Highway 290E.

Bell County

Northeast of Austin, Bell County spreads across 1,088 square miles to include the towns of Killeen, Temple, and Belton. With a population of over 314,000, this Central Texas region sits north of Austin along the Interstate 35 corridor.

Comal County

Known for beautiful Canyon Lake, Comal County covers 575 square miles just north of San Antonio. With a population of over 108,000, the county sits on the Edwards Plateau southwest of Austin and includes Gruene, Comal Springs, and New Braunfels.

Fayette County

Southeast of Austin, Fayette County spreads across 960 square miles from Interstate 10 northward to Highway290. Over 25,000 residents live near Lagrange and the communities of Oldenburg, Holman, Freyburg, Stellar, Warda, Rek Hill, Elm Grove, Flatonia, and Schulenburg.

Gillespie County

Sitting on 1,062 square miles of Texas Hill Country, Gillespie County runs along Highway 290W through the heart of Fredericksburg, Texas. With a western border near Mountain Home and Interstate 10, residents have access to major roads south to San Antonio or east to Austin. The county includes the communities of Harper, Cain City, Eckert, and Cherry Spring and is home to over 25,000 residents.

Gonzales County

Southeast of San Marcos, Gonzales County homes for sale are in the 78122, 78140, 78159, 78604, 78614, 78632, 78638, and 78959 zip codes.

Guadalupe County

With a northern border along Interstate 10 near Luling, Guadalupe County spreads southward through Gonzales and covers 1,070 square miles east of San Antonio.

Lampasas County

Northwest of Austin, Lampasas County includes 714 square miles of Central Texas and includes communities in Lampasas, Shortail, Rumley, Izoro, Moline, Lometa and Adamsville with a population of over 20,000.

Lee County

East of Austin, Lee County sits northeast of Bastrop along Highway 290E and Highway 77. Lee County has a population of over 16,000 on 624 square miles. Communities within the county include Tanglewood, Adina, Fedor, Dime Box, Loebau, Serbin, and the town of Giddings.

Llano County

Northwest of Austin, Llano County covers 966 square miles with a border that runs through the center of Lake Buchanan and Lake Lyndon B. Johnson. This county, with over 20,000 residents, includes many waterfront properties along the extensive shoreline. Llano County communities include Llano, Oxford, Lone Grove, Valley Spring, Stolz, and Bluffton.

Milam County

Northeast of Austin, Milam County covers 1,022 square miles with over 25,000 residents living in communities like Cameron, Gause, Davila, Pettibone, Mayfield, Tracy, Marjorie, Sandow, and New Clarkson. US 190, running between Caldwell and Temple, and Highway 79, running between Taylor and Hearne, intersect the county. Highway 77 runs north and south between Giddings and Rosebud.

San Saba County

Northwest of Austin, San Saba County is a rural area with a population of almost 7,000 residents. The county includes the city of San Saba and communities in Algerita, Cherokee, chapel, and Hall.

If you have any questions about Central Texas and Austin-area Counties, please request a specialist or call us at (512) 241-1300 or (888) AUS-RELO.

* Indicates a Required Field.

Personal Information
Inquiry Information

^ Back to Top